Ames, Iowa - ISU Letterwinner Ben Bruns ’00 has become the current President of the Iowa State University Letterwinners Club (LWC) Board of Directors.  Bruns has served as the Vice President since January.  He takes over for Paul Schulte ‘91.

“The ISU Letterwinners Club provides us all a chance to reconnect with teammates.  Looking back, the relationships with my teammates are the most important things I have from my time at ISU,” stated Bruns.  “Coaching staffs change, administrations change, facilities change, even the sports that ISU competes in change, but we’ll always be Cyclones.”

Bruns was a starter on the 2000 Cyclone football team which earned ISU’s first bowl victory, a 37-28 win over Pitt in the Bowl.  The 2000 team also set a school record with 9 victories.  Bruns earned 3rd-team All American honors that season.

“It is important that we have a dedicated President that can relate to all letterwinners,” stated Director of Special Events and Letterwinners Club Ryan McGuire.  “Ben fits the bill.  He will be able to build on the successes that Paul Schulte brought during his tenure.”

The Club will undergo many changes in the upcoming months.  According to Bruns, “Letterwinners should be celebrated as the tradition of ISU.  The Club provides a bridge back to those relationships and allows the opportunity for Cyclone fans to celebrate our tradition.  That’s the mission of the Club, and I’m thrilled to be a part of it.”