Hall of Fame - 1997 Inductees
Courtesy: UND Athletics Media Relations
Release: 01/20/2007
Print RSS
Related Links

Steve Brekke (BB 1982-83)
  Brekke was a two-year started for the men's basketball team at forward. He was the squad's leading scorer as a senior and finished his brief career with 923 points after transferring from UND-Lake Region. He was a starter on the 1981-82 team that advanced to the NCAA Division II quarterfinals and a two-time all-North Central Conference selection. Brekke played professionally in Australia for two years.

Dale Kasowski (FB 1972-75)
  Kasowski was a fullback on the Fighting Sioux football team and a four-year letterwinner from 1972-75. He holds the all-time mark with 36 rushing touchdowns and was tied for second all-time with 36 touchdowns. He ranked fifth in the all-time rushing yardage statstics with 2,383 yards, ranked fourth with 478 career rushing attempts, named to the all-North Central Conference squads in 1974 and 1975 and both UND and Kasowski won the NCC title those years. The 1972 team played in the Cameilia Bowl in Sacramento, Calif., where the Sioux defeated Cal. Poly-San Luis Obispo 38-21, where Kasowski ran 49 yards on his first carry from scrimmage and replaced Mike Deutsch for a touchdown to seal the victory. In 1975 he held many UND single-season records such as: 860 rushing yards, 16 touchdowns and rushing touchdowns and scoring 100 total points. He also ranked third with 220 career total points and compiled 2600 career yards. After college he had a pro football tryout with the Chicago Bears.

William (Bill) Predovich (FB 1966-68)
  Predovich was one of the top pass catchers in Sioux football history. He was ranked in the top ten in several season and career receiving categories. He was a three-time all-North Central Conference selection; he was an honorable mention All-American in 1968. Predovich was the most valuable player of the first Potato Bowl in 1966. He finished his career with 110 receptions and 1484 yards and left the gridiron after the 1968 season as the leading receiver in receptions and yards gained. Predovich was named to UND's all-Century team in 1994.

Dr. Helen Smiley (Admin 1971-85)
  Smiley started at UND in 1971 and served as an associate athletic director and an assistant professor in the Health, Physical Education and Recreation Department until 1985. She also served as the interim athletic director in 1984. Smiley is a member of the DePauw University Athletic Hall of Fame and the North Central Conference Hall of Fame. She was instrumental in the development of women's athletics at UND.

Summer Inductees
(Hockey's 50th Anniversary)

Phil Sykes (H 1978-82)
  Sykes had an outstanding career with the Fighting Sioux from 1978-82. He was a member of the 1980 and 1982 NCAA Championship teams and named the Final Four Most Valuable Player in 1982. In 1979, 1980 and 1982 Sykes was a member of the WCHA regular season championship team. During his senior year in 1982 he was chosen to the All-WCHA first team and scored 39 goals and earned a total of 63 points, which made him the team's leader. He held many other titles during his career ranking fourth with 98 all-time goals scored and sixth with 161 all-time games played. Sykes was the winner of the Tom Hoghaug Memorial Scholarship in 1979 and earned 188 career points as a Sioux hockey player. After his college career he played in the National Hockey League for ten years, 1982-1992 with the Los Angeles Kings and the Winnipeg Jets. After retiring he was named to the NCAA 50th Anniversary Team.

Rick Wilson (H 1969-72)
  Wilson was a member of the hockey team from 1969-72. In one of his first seasons he was charged with the most penalty minuets in the 1971 season with 113, which ranked him seventh. In 1972 he was selected to the All-WCHA second team. Throughout his time as a Fighting Sioux hockey standout he earned a total of 53 career points. After his college career he played in the National Hockey League from 1973-77 with three different teams in Montreal, St. Louis and Detroit.

Al McLean (H 1961-63)
  McLean played on the Fighting Sioux hockey team from 1961-63. In 1962 he scored a team-high of 19 goals and 19 assists for a team high of 38 points his second season and during his senior year he tailed a team-high of 34 assists and led the team with 54 points. He was named a first-team All-American and selected to the All-WCHA second team in 1963. McLean was part of the 1963 NCAA Championship team that earned him NCAA Tournament MVP that same year. Throughout his four seasons he scored 91 career points as a Sioux.

Guy LaFrance (H 1957-60)
  La France played on the Sioux hockey team from 1957-1960. He was a member of the 1959 NCAA Championship team. He earned a few WCHA honors as member of the 1958 WCHA regular season champions and being named to WCHA second team in 1960. In his four seasons playing with the Fighting Sioux he tailed 93 career points.

Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps