1982 Men's Basketball Hall of Fame
Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
          Release: 05/15/2007
Print RSS

It has been called the “Greatest season in Vandal basketball history.” The 1981-82 Vandal men’s basketball team went 27-3, repeated as Big Sky champions and advanced to the Sweet Sixteen at the NCAA Tournament after beating Iowa on a buzzer-beater in overtime. The team started the season 16-0, including a win at the Far West Classic in Portland, Ore., over Oregon, Oregon State and Iowa State. The team finished the regular season with an overall record of 25-2, losing the two games by a combined four points. The Vandals won every home game, extending their home winning streak to 35 games. The team won the Big Sky tournament and regular season titles. The 1981-82 team’s 27 wins is a team record, while their .900 win percentage is also the best-ever at Idaho. Head coach Don Monson won Big Sky and Kodak Division I Coach of the Year honors for that season, Phil Hopson and Brian Kellerman earned All-Big Sky honors, Ken Owens earned Big Sky Tournament MVP honors and Kellerman and Gordie Herbert earned All-Tournament Team honors. When the Big Sky announced its 25th Anniversary Team, two members of the 1981-82 squad, Kellerman and Owens, were named to the team.


Vandal Xtra
Member Login
Learn More
Enjoy PREMIUM access
and LIVE events!
More on GoVandals.com
Learn More!
Vandal Camps
Learn from the Best!
Idaho Visitors Center
Uploaded Ad
Sun Belt
Idaho Sports Properties