2002 Class

Terrell Owens
CHATTANOOGA, Tenn.---National Football League All-Pro wide receiver Terrell Owens, a former star at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, headlines UTC's 2003 Athletics Hall of Fame induction class.

Owens will join Tim Brooks, men's basketball; George Farr, wrestling; Kim Horsey, women's basketball; Robert Smith, football and Pat Woolsey, baseball in this year's class which will be inducted in a noon ceremony Saturday at the Chattanooga Golf and Country Club.

"There is a tremendous history and heritage in UTC athletics, but to become a part of the Hall of Fame is, indeed, a special honor," UTC Athletics Director Steve Sloan said. "We are proud of the accomplishments of these individuals and are pleased to add them to an illustrious group of former Chattanooga student-athletes."

Brooks (1991-93), who led UTC to back-to-back Southern Conference titles, was the SoCon Player of the Year for the 1992-93 season. He was a two-time First-Team All-SoCon honoree and was the Most Outstanding Player of the 1993 conference tournament.

Brooks scored 970 points during his two-year career, a total which ranks 14th in school history. He averaged 15.4 points per game and is the school's all-time assist leader with 414. He ranks fifth in free throw percentage, sixth in three-point field goal percentage, 12th in career three-pointers and 12th in career free throws.

Farr (1962-65) compiled an 80-4 overall wrestling record during his career and was undefeated as a freshman and sophomore. He won Southeastern Conference titles in 1962 and 1963 and was runner-up in 1964 and 1965.

Farr, who led UC in wins and pins each season he competed, worked as a UC football athletics trainer for four years and served in the U.S. Army, including a stint in Vietnam.

Horsey (1980-84) led the Lady Mocs to two Southern Conference Tournament championships. As a senior she was voted All-SoCon and helped her squad advance to the WNIT where UTC defeated Oklahoma and Clemson.

Horsey holds the school single-season record for rebounds with 356. She ranks second in career blocked shots and ninth in career points with 1,078.

Owens compiled 144 receptions and 2,320 receiving yards with 19 touchdowns during his UTC career. He ranks second in school history in both catches and receiving yardage. He caught at least one pass in 20 consecutive games from 1994 to 1995.

Owens, who also earned two letters in basketball, was a third-round draft pick by the San Francisco 49ers in 1996. He has earned the reputation as one of the top pass-catchers in the NFL and has made three straight Pro Bowls.

Smith (1967-71) stands sixth all-time in rushing yards at UTC with 2,284 yards. He earned Chattanooga Times All-State College Football First-Team accolades in 1969 and was an Outstanding College Athlete of America Award winner in 1970.

Smith set the UTC record for rushing plays in a season with 212 in 1970 and most rushes in a game with 32. He was the team's most valuable player as a junior and the most valuable back as a senior. He also earned the school's Dale May Award for the student-athlete with the highest grade point average.

Woolsey (1966-70) was a two-sport letterwinner at UTC, playing both baseball and basketball. A third baseman, Woolsey batted over .300 each season. He hit .393 as a freshman as the Mocs went undefeated in the first year of the program. He batted .378 as a sophomore and .306 as a junior.

Woolsey was a two-year starter at point guard for the basketball program. He averaged 10.0 points per game as a senior and 8.6 as a junior.

In addition to the 2003 class's induction, three special annual awards will be presented. Senior football player Emmanuel DeWalt will be awarded the A.C. "Scrappy" Moore Award, Angelo "Nubby" Napolitano will receive the Joe Morrison Award and Don McDade will be given the Gordon L. Davenport Award.

The Scrappy Moore Award is given to the UTC student-athlete who best personifies the Athletics Department's motto of Success with Integrity through Academic Achievement and Community Service. DeWalt, of Union, S.C., was voted permanent captain following his final season in 2002. The three-time member of the Dean's List was named an All-America Scholar and was elected to serve as a member of UTC's Student-Athlete Council. He also worked as president of the local Fellowship of Christian Athletes chapter.

Napolitano, a former UC football player, will receive the Joe Morrison Award, which is given to the UTC constituent who has achieved notable life accomplishments. A former All-America and Hall of Fame member, he served Hamilton County Schools for 30 years.

Don McDade has been one of the school's athletic filmers and videographers for over 25 years. He has donated his time and weekends to make sure each home and away football, and men's and women's basketball games are recorded for coaches study and evaluation. For his dedication, McDade will be honored with the Davenport Award for his outstanding commitment to UTC athletics.

Owens is the only member of the class who will be unable to attend Saturday's ceremonies. After originally committing to be in Chattanooga for the event, he recently called to say that he would not be in attendance because of a wedding for one of his 49ers teammates. He is expected to send a video expressing his sentiments.

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
More None
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision