CHICAGO, Ill. - The Watch List for the Fred Mitchell Award was announced today and includes 50 Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II, III, National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) collegiate placekickers. The individuals were nominated by their colleges for excellence on the football field and in the community. Adrian Mora was one of the 10 finalists for the award in 2010.

The Award's Selection Committee Chairman Chris Kearney said, "These place-kickers are terrific on the football field and off the field representing their schools, their football teams, their conferences, their communities, their families and themselves.  We look forward to following their accomplishments during the next few months." 

A graduate student entering this fall, Mora led the Eagles in scoring in 2010, hitting 19 of 21 field goals and going a perfect 45-45 in PATs. He finished in the top two in the Southern Conference in kick scoring, field goals made, field goal percentage and PAT percentage. The Dalton, Ga., native ranks in the top 10 in four FCS career categories for kicking and is the Eagles' leader for career consecutive PATs, going 95-95. He was honored in 2010 with selections to the Associated Press All-America third team and Phil Steele FCS fourth team after last season. Mora also won College Football Performance Awards Placekicker of the Year.

Fred Mitchell said, "It is a pleasure to include these fine young men on the Watch List for this Award.  We are delighted to recognize them based on outstanding performance in the community and expectations going into the 2011 college football season."

The breakdown of the 50 placekickers is as follows:

  • Collegiate Division - 15 FCS, 20 Division II, 11 Division III, 3 NAIA and 1 NJCAA
  • State - the placekickers play at schools located in 30 different states, led by Minnesota with 5 individuals
  • Year - 23 Seniors, 16 Juniors, 11 Sophomores
  • Fred Mitchell Award Finalists in 2010 who are on the 2011 Watch List - 28

In alphabetical order, the 2011 Fred Mitchell Award Watch List is provided below.

TYLER ALMEIDA, University of Mount Union (Ohio) - Division III
DREW BEHRENS, Augustana College (South Dakota) - Division II
GREGG BERKSHIRE, Ashland University (Ohio) - Division II
GARRETT BIEL, Trinity University (Texas) - Division III
ZACH BROWN, Portland State University (Oregon) - FCS
TYLER CANNON, Eastern New Mexico University - Division II
EDGAR COLMENARES, Northwestern Oklahoma State University - NAIA
JASON CUNNINGHAM, Montana State University (Montana) - FCS
ERIC DOBRATZ, Shepherd University (West Virginia) - Division II
DANIEL FISHER, Bloomsburg University (Pennsylvania) - Division II
WARREN FREVERT, William Jewell College (Missouri) - Division II
JASON FOWLER, Ouachita Baptist University (Arkansas) - Division II
JACOB GAHART, Ripon College (Wisconsin) - Division III
EMILIO (E. J.) GENZANO, The College at Brockport (New York) - Division III
HERB GLASS, University at Albany - FCS
BRAD GREENWAY, Cornell University (New York) - FCS
TAYLOR GROFF, East Stroudsburg University (Pennsylvania) - Division II
AARON JAMIESON, University of Central Missouri - Division II
BILLY JANSSEN, Drake University (Iowa) - FCS
RYAN JASTRAM, North Dakota State University - FCS
AUBURN JIMENEZ, Macalester College (Minnesota) - Division III
FRANK KEENAN, Fairmont State University (West Virginia) - Division II
SEAN KELLEY, University of California Davis - FCS
ANDREW KOCUREK, Southwest Baptist University (Missouri) - Division II
DAVID LANG, Butler University (Indiana) - FCS
SHAWN LEO, West Chester University (Pennsylvania) - Division II
JOSH LEWIS, McNeese State University (Louisiana) - FCS
TOM LYNCH, Saint Xavier University (Illinois) - NAIA
KYLE MAJOR, Colorado State University-Pueblo - Division II
JIMMIE MATTSON, Saint John's University (Minnesota) - Division III
JOSH MONTGOMERY, University of North Alabama - Division II               
ADRIAN MORA, Georgia Southern University - FCS
MATT MYERS, Northern Arizona University - FCS
DAVID NADEAU, University of Minnesota Duluth - Division II
NATE NYGARD, Jamestown College (North Dakota) - NAIA
MATT RAWSON, Amherst College (Massachusetts) - Division III
SCOTT ROCHE, Wheaton College (Illinois) - Division III
DYLAN RUSH, Endicott College (Massachusetts) - Division III
CHRIS SCIFO, University of New Haven (Connecticut) - Division II
WESLEY SKIFFINGTON, Stony Brook University (New York) - FCS
PAT SMITH, Western Illinois University - FCS
STEPHEN STANSELL, Austin Peay State University (Tennessee) - FCS
JON STORCK, Waynesburg University (Pennsylvania) - Division III
JESSE SUNDBY, Bemidji State University (Minnesota) - Division II
STEFAN TERLECKYJ, Wayne State University (Michigan) - Division II
DAVID VAN VORIS, Adams State College (Colorado) - Division II
ADAM WILLETS, Campbell University (North Carolina) - FCS
BRADEN WIEKING, University of Sioux Falls (South Dakota) - Division II
TOMMY WILCZYNSKI, Rowan University (New Jersey) - Division III
ANTHONY WOOD, Fond du Lac Tribal & Community College (Minnesota) - NJCAA

About the Fred Mitchell Award
The annual Fred Mitchell Outstanding Place-Kicker Award (also known as the Fred Mitchell Award, is provided to the nation's top collegiate place-kicker among more than 750 FCS, Division II, III, NAIA and NJCAA football teams.  The Award is named for Fred Mitchell, the record-setting place-kicker, Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Famer, author, philanthropist and Chicago Tribune sports columnist.  The recipient of the Fred Mitchell Award will be chosen based on excellence on the football field and in the community.  The Award's Watch List is released in August, top performers are recognized monthly during the college football season, and the winner (who is not required to be on the Watch List) is announced in mid-December.  The school of the Award winner receives scholarship funds and the Fred Mitchell Award trophy will be presented in February 2012 at the National Football Foundation Chicago Metro Chapter Awards Ceremony at Halas Hall.

A blue-ribbon Selection Committee (listed at evaluates place-kickers that are nominated by their schools.  Members of the Pro and/or College Football Hall of Fame on the Selection Committee include Tom Beck, Kevin Butler, Paul Hornung, Marv Levy, Steve McMichael, Don Pierson and Gale Sayers.  Several former football players that are active in their communities are also on the Selection Committee including Carl Allegretti, Sean Gothier, Dan Jiggetts, Jeff Michalczyk, Mark Murphy, Rob Perry, Jeff Schebler, Bob Thomas, Todd Wilkins, Gary Zauner and Rob Zvonar.  There are eight former college or NFL place-kickers on the Selection Committee, including Schebler, the inaugural Fred Mitchell Award recipient in 2009 and the highest-scoring place-kicker in NCAA history at any level.