CHICAGO, Ill. - The College Sporting News released its 2011 preseason All-America teams, selecting the top Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) players in the nation. Georgia Southern, which surged back into national prominence with a run to the NCAA semifinals last fall, leads all teams with five selections, led by junior defensive tackle Brent Russell (Comer, Ga.), one of the top candidates for defensive player of the year honors this season.

Other GSU Eagles on the squad include first-team senior punter Charlie Edwards (Tifton, Ga.), second-team sophomore fullback Robert Brown (Macon, Ga.), second-team senior tackle Brett Moore (Warner Robins, Ga.) and second-team senior defensive back Laron Scott (Warner-Robins, Ga.).

This is the 10th year that College Sporting News, the longest active news service that covers the FCS exclusively, has named a preseason All-America team.

In all, 58 FCS schools are represented by this year's preseason honors squad, while all 14 FCS conferences are on the list. The Southern Conference topped all of the conferences with 17 selections, followed by the Colonial Athletic Association with 14, the Big Sky with 11 and the Big South and the Southland with 10 apiece.

College Sporting News is one of the few outlets to fully recognize the impact of special teams performers on its All-America squads by picking long snappers, along with kickers, punters and returnmen.

College Sporting News will release its 10th annual postseason All-America team in the week following the NCAA Division I Football Championship game, scheduled for Jan. 7 in Frisco, Texas.

2011 College Sporting News
Football Championship Subdivision
Preseason All-America Team

DE Mario Kurn, Senior, San Diego
DE Brian McNally, Senior, New Hampshire
DT Brent Russell, Junior, Georgia Southern
DT Renard Williams, Senior, Eastern Washington
DL Ameet Pall, Senior, Wofford
LB Kadarron Anderson, Senior, Furman
LB Matt Evans, Junior, New Hampshire
LB Tyler Holmes, Senior, Massachusetts
LB A.J. Storms, Senior, Idaho State
CB Trumaine Johnson, Senior, Montana
CB Ryan Steed, Senior, Furman
SS Mike McElroy, Senior, Southern Illinois
FS Tyler Brock, Junior, Southeast Missouri State
DB Asa Jackson, Senior, Cal Poly

QB DeAndre Presley, Senior,  Appalachian State
RB Nick Eachus, Senior, Colgate
RB Andrew Pierce, Sophomore, Delaware
FB Eric Breitenstein, Junior, Wofford
AP Jonathan Grimes, Senior, William & Mary
T Tom Compton, Senior, South Dakota
T David Pickard, Senior, Southern Illinois
G D.J. Hall, Senior, Texas State
G J.C. Oram, Senior, Weber State
C Chris Powers, Senior, Eastern Washington
TE Shadrae King, Junior, Robert Morris
WR Brian Quick, Senior, Appalachian State
WR Chris Summers, Senior, Liberty
WR Brandon Kaufman, Junior, Eastern Washington

KR Gralyn Crawford, Junior, Stephen F. Austin
PR Tavoy Moore, Senior, Idaho State
K Matt Bevins, Senior, Liberty
P Charlie Edwards, Senior, Georgia Southern
LS John Behm, Senior, Davidson

QB Brad Sorenson, Senior, Southern Utah
RB D.J. McNorton, Sophomore, North Dakota State
RB Andrew Pierce, Sophomore, Delaware
FB Robert Brown, Sophomore, Georgia Southern
AP  Mike Brown, Senior, Liberty
T Jeff Adams, Senior, Columbia
T Brett Moore, Senior, Georgia Southern
G Rodney Austin, Senior, Elon
G Gino Gradkowski, Senior, Delaware
C Natiel Curry, Senior, Bethune-Cookman
TE David Duran, Senior, Coastal Carolina
WR Joel Bradford, Senior, Chattanooga
WR Aaron Mellette, Junior, Elon
WR Norman White, Senior, Villanova

DE Zach Nash, Senior, Sacramento State
DE Ben Obaseki, Junior, Indiana State
DT Ben Boothby, Senior, Northern Iowa
DT Asa Chapman, Senior, Liberty
DL Tyler Osborne, Senior, Southern Utah
LB Cliff Exema, Senior, Grambling
LB Mike Groome, Senior, Lehigh
LB Keith Pough, Junior, Howard
LB Derek Rose, Junior, Northwestern State
CB James Pitts, Senior, Villanova
CB B.W. Webb, Junior, William & Mary
SS  Matt Johnson, Senior, Eastern Washington
FS Malcolm Bronson, Junior, McNeese State
DB Laron Scott, Senior, Georgia Southern

KR Jeremy Caldwell, Senior, Eastern Kentucky
PR Dontrell Johnson, Senior, Murray State
K Jason Cunningham, Senior, Montana State
P Jonathan Plisco, Junior, Old Dominion
LS Wilson Fitchett, Senior, Appalachian State

QB Tirell Rennie, Senior, Northern Iowa
RB Mike Mayhew, Senior, North Carolina A&T
RB Miguel Maysonet, Junior, Stoney Brook
FB Kendall Gaskins, Senior, Richmond
AP Nick Schweiger, Senior, Dartmouth
T George Bias, Senior, Stephen F. Austin
T Evan Conrad, Junior, Southeast Missouri State
G James Dekle, Senior, Prairie View
G Miguel Gauthreaux, Senior, McNeese State
C Brian Boemer, Senior, Southern Illinois
TE Ben Jorden, Senior, Appalachian State
WR Cordell Roberson, Junior, Stephen F. Austin
WR Ryan Spadola, Senior, Lehigh
WR Simmie Yarborough, Senior, Southeastern Louisiana

DE Coulter Boyer, Senior, North Dakota State
DE Gavin Cooper, Senior, Cal Poly
DT Desmond Lighten, Senior, McNeese State
DT Josue Ortiz, Senior, Harvard
DL Devon Langhorst, Senior, Dayton
LB Donte Dennis, Senior, Maine
LB Ryan Lewis, Senior, Bethune-Cookman
LB Marty Patterson, Senior, Gardner-Webb
LB Jake Trantin, Senior, William & Mary
CB Moses Ellis, Senior, Prairie View
CB Charles James, Junior, Charleston Southern
SS Jose Gumbs, Senior, Monmouth
FS KeJuan Riley, Junior, Alabama State
DB Darrell Jenkins, Senior, McNeese State

KR Carlos Anderson, Junior, Northern Iowa
PR Shaun Abuhoff, Senior, Dartmouth
K Andrew Sampson, Junior, Penn
P David Harrington, Senior, Idaho State
LS Hudson Smith, Sophomore, Gardner-Webb