Home of Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball, Volleyball and Indoor Track and Field

The cornerstone of the Appalachian State University campus is the George M. Holmes Convocation Center. Containing Seby Jones Arena, the facility serves as the home of Mountaineer volleyball as well as the men’s and women’s basketball programs and indoor track and field squads.

Standing at the end of Rivers Street, the 200,840-square-foot structure houses the Department of Health, Leisure and Exercise Science, and includes a multipurpose arena for community and cultural events, graduation and convocation ceremonies, trade shows, concerts, and athletic events.

The athletics facilities on campus have long been considered among the finest in the Southern Conference. The constant emphasis placed on the maintenance and upgrading of these sites shows the institution’s dedication to its teams and student-athletes. Throughout the past several years there have been many additions and renovations to the athletic facilities, as well as academic buildings on campus, to help propel ASU into the 21st century.

The 8,325-seat arena is complete with HLES offices, classrooms, state-of-the-art laboratories, team areas and retractable seating for concerts, special events, volleyball and basketball competition and more.

A 300-meter state-of-the-art directional Mondo track circles the upper concourse and is used by the indoor track and field teams for both practice and competition.

The facility was opened with a celebration followed by a men’s basketball contest between Appalachian and North Carolina. With much anticipation, every seat was sold recording the first a pre-gameday sellout in school history for any sporting event. The athletics ticket office sold the full allotment of tickets for the inaugural contest in the Holmes Center 12 minutes after opening.

The Appalachian student section is a priority. Student seating is located at midcourt for both volleyball and basketball.

Public service, a cornerstone upon which Appalachian was founded, is the hallmark of two individuals who names will adorn the University’s convocation center.