Basketball Coach

Years Played


Year Inducted


Head basketball coach at North Dakota State from 1933 through 1946, guiding 11 Bison squads to a 141-102 record including three straight league championships from 1939-40 to 1941-42. His 1941-42 team recorded the last 20-win season at NDSU until the 1980-81 club won 20 games. Coached 14 All-NCC performers during his tenure. Six of his former players have been inducted into the Bison Hall of Fame (Russ Anderson, Neville Reniers, Bob Saunders, Larry Tanberg, Arnold ‘Swede’ Johnson and Cliff Nygard). He coached at Fargo Central High School before moving to NDSU to become an assistant football coach to C.C. Finnegan in 1928.