WASHINGTON, D.C. (October 22, 2008) – The Colonial Athletic Association released today the most extensive men’s and women’s basketball television package in conference history with 110 televised contests. The announcement was made during the conference’s Media Day festivities at the ESPN Zone in Washington, D.C.

“Our great television partners – Comcast SportsNet, CN8, CSS and ESPN – will bring a record number of exciting CAA games to millions of households on a weekly basis,” said CAA Commissioner Tom Yeager.  “Our continued growth would not be possible without their unqualified support.”

The 92-game men’s basketball composite broadcast slate features 33 appearances on the various ESPN platforms, including four regular-season games and the CAA Championship on ESPN/ESPN2, eight games on ESPNU and five syndicated games on ESPN Regional Television. That number could rise as all 12 CAA teams are once again participating in the ESPNU BracketBusters on February 20-21, 2009.

The largest-ever Comcast syndicated package features 28 games on the Comcast SportsNets (CSN Mid-Atlantic, CSN Philadelphia, CSN New England and CSS) and 20 games on CN8, the Comcast Network, providing tremendous exposure in many of the nation’s largest media markets. CN8 will once again televise the quarterfinals and semifinals of the CAA Men’s Basketball Championship.

“CAA teams are playing some of the most exciting college basketball on television today and this schedule is an integral part of our comprehensive Comcast SportsNet college programming lineup,” said Mike Sheehey, senior vice president of sports content for Comcast Sports Group, which manages Comcast SportsNet and CSS. 

The women’s basketball composite television schedule includes 12 regular-season conference matchups as well as the CAA Women’s Basketball Championship semifinals on CN8 and the championship game on Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic and CSS. In total, 18 games will be televised throughout the CAA footprint.

“Along with our extensive regular-season coverage, we’re especially excited that again CN8 is the home of the CAA Tournament,” said Jon Gurevitch, vice president of CN8 Sports. “On all of our 40 or so college basketball telecasts this year, we’ll also be making games available on air, online and ON DEMAND. It really underscores our commitment to local sports.”


CAA TELEVISION PACKAGE HIGHLIGHTS:
            
•    A minimum of 33 appearances on the various ESPN platforms, including at least four regular-season games on ESPN/ESPN2, 25 appearances on ESPNU and ESPN Regional Television and the CAA Championship game on ESPN.

•    Nearly 50 games in a widely-syndicated Comcast SportsNet/CN8 package, featuring a cumulative total of 60-plus CAA appearances available in the New York, Philadelphia, Boston, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Richmond, Norfolk and Atlanta television markets, reaching a potential audience of over 20 million TVHH;

•    Seven games (Four Quarterfinals, two Semifinals and the Championship) of the CAA Men’s Basketball Championship available either regionally or nationally.

•    An expanded Women’s Basketball package with at least 12 regular season CAA games (18 total).

•    Regional syndication of both CAA Women’s Basketball semifinal games and the CAA Championship game.

 

2008 – 2009 CAA MEN’S BASKETBALL
COMPOSITE TELEVISION LISTING
(as of 10/20/08, Times, networks subject to change)




Wed., Nov. 12 Northeastern vs. Michigan/Michigan Tech (2K Sports Classic) ESPN Networks TBD
Fri., Nov. 14 William & Mary at Penn State Big Ten Network 6:30 PM
Fri., Nov. 14 Hofstra vs. Clemson  (Charleston Classic) CSS 9:30 PM
Sat., Nov. 15 Hofstra vs. TCU/Western Michigan  (Charleston Classic) CSS 5:30 / 8:30 PM
Sun., Nov. 16 Georgia State at Minnesota Big Ten Network.com 6:00 PM
Sun., Nov. 16 Towson at Niagara Niagara Sports Network 7:00 PM
Tue., Nov. 18 Penn at Drexel ESPN 10:00 AM
Tue., Nov. 18 James Madison at NIT Tip-Off ESPN2 TBD
Thu., Nov. 20 Northeastern at 2K Sports Classic ESPN2 TBD
Fri., Nov. 21 Northeastern at 2K Sports Classic ESPN2 TBD
Sat., Nov. 22 Drexel at Georgetown Big East Television 1:00 PM
Sat., Nov. 22 Alabama-Birmingham at Old Dominion CSN+ 4:00 PM
Mon., Nov. 24 James Madison at NIT Tip-Off ESPN2 TBD
Tue., Nov. 25 Boston University at Northeastern NESN 8:00 PM
Wed., Nov. 26 James Madison at NIT Tip-Off ESPN2 TBD
Sat., Nov. 29 Northeastern at South Florida Bright House Sports 7:00 PM
Sun., Dec. 1 George Mason at Liberty Flames TV 7:00 PM
Tue., Dec. 3 Richmond at Old Dominion CSN+ 7:00 PM
Sat., Dec. 6 Northeastern at James Madison CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSN-NE Noon
Sat., Dec. 6 George Mason at Drexel CN8 4:30 PM
Sat., Dec. 13 VCU at Richmond ESPNU 2:00 PM
Sat., Dec. 13 Florida State at Georgia State CSS, CSN-MA 4:00 PM
Sat., Dec. 13 St. Francis (NY) at Hofstra MSG+ 4:00 PM
Thu., Dec. 18 Niagara at Drexel Niagara Sports Network 7:00 PM
Sat., Dec. 20 VCU at Oklahoma   (All College Classic) ESPN2 10:00 PM
Mon., Dec. 22 Northeastern at Indiana Big Ten Network 9:00 PM
Mon., Dec. 22 Drexel at Memphis Memphis TV 1:00 PM
Sat., Dec. 27 Drexel at Rider CN8 3:00 PM
Sun., Dec. 28 Richmond at UNCW MASN 5:30 PM
Wed., Dec. 31 Northeastern at Memphis CSS 2:00 PM
Wed., Dec. 31 Saint Joseph's vs. Drexel (Palestra) CN8 5:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 3 Drexel at Hofstra MSG+ 2:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 3 VCU at Delaware CN8 4:30 PM
Sat., Jan. 3 UNCW at George Mason ESPN Regional (MASN) 7:00 PM
Mon., Jan. 5 Drexel at James Madison CSN-MA; CSN-P 7:00 PM
Mon., Jan. 5 UNCW at VCU MASN 9:00 PM
Wed., Jan. 7 William & Mary at UNCW ESPN Regional (MASN) 7:00 PM
Wed., Jan. 7 Northeastern at Georgia State CSS; CSN-NE (TD 9 PM) 7:00 PM
Wed., Jan. 7 James Madison at Old Dominion WSKY 7:00 PM
Thu., Jan. 8 VCU at Drexel ESPNU 7:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 10 Hofstra at VCU CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSN-NE; CSS; MSG+ Noon
Sat., Jan. 10 Old Dominion at George Mason CSN-MA; CSN-NE; CSS 2:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 10 Towson at Northeastern CN8 3:00 PM
Tue., Jan. 13 Georgia State at Old Dominion ESPNU 9:00 PM
Thu., Jan 15 Northeastern at Delaware ESPNU 7:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 17 William & Mary at Delaware CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSS Noon
Sat., Jan. 17 Northeastern at Hofstra MSG+ Noon
Sat., Jan. 17 James Madison at George Mason CN8; CSS 2:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 17 Old Dominion at VCU CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSN-NE 4:00 PM
Tue., Jan. 20 Delaware at Drexel CSN-MA+; CSN-P; CSS (JIP 7:30 PM) 7:00 PM
Wed., Jan. 21 VCU at Georgia State CSS; CSN-MA 7:00 PM
Wed., Jan. 21 UNCW at Old Dominion WSKY; TWC-W 7:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 24 George Mason at VCU  (ESPN/CSN Wildcard) ESPN2 or CSN-MA; CSN-NE 4:00 / 7:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 24 Northeastern at Old Dominion  (ESPN/CSN Wildcard) ESPN2 or CSN-MA; CSN-NE 4:00 / 7:00 PM
Tue., Jan. 27 Delaware at George Mason CN8; CSS (JIP 7:30 PM) 7:00 PM
Tue., Jan. 27 Northeastern at VCU ESPNU 9:00 PM
Wed., Jan. 28 Old Dominion at James Madison WSKY 7:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 31 VCU at Hofstra CN8; MSG+ Noon
Sat., Jan. 31 Drexel at Towson CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSN-NE 4:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 31 Georgia State at William & Mary CSS; WSKY 5:00 PM
Sat., Jan. 31 George Mason at Old Dominion CSN-MA; CSN-NE 7:00 PM
Tue., Feb. 3 Towson at Old Dominion WSKY; MASN (TD 11PM) 7:00 PM
Tue., Feb. 3 Hofstra at George Mason ESPNU 9:00 PM
Wed., Feb. 4 VCU at UNCW ESPN Regional (MASN) 7:00 PM
Wed., Feb. 4 Drexel at Delaware CN8 8:00 PM
Wed., Feb. 4 Northeastern at William & Mary CSN-NE; WSKY 7:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 7 Towson at Hofstra CSN-MA; MSG+; CSS Noon
Sat., Feb. 7 George Mason at James Madison CSN-MA; CSN-NE; CSS 2:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 7 Old Dominion at Drexel CN8; WSKY 7:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 7 Delaware at Georgia State CSS; CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSN-NE 4:00 PM
Tue., Feb. 10 Old Dominion at Hofstra ESPNU 7:00 PM
Thu., Feb. 12 George Mason at Delaware ESPNU 7:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 14 Northeastern at George Mason CSN-MA; CSN-NE; CSS Noon
Sat., Feb. 14 VCU at Old Dominion CSN-MA; CSN-NE; CSS 2:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 14 Hofstra at Delaware CN8; MSG+ 4:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 14 UNCW at Georgia State CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSN-NE; CSS 4:00 PM
Sun., Feb. 15 Towson at Drexel CN8 3:00 PM
Wed., Feb. 18 Delaware at VCU CN8; CSS 7:00 PM
Wed., Feb. 18 Old Dominion at UNCW WSKY; MASN (TD) 7:00 PM
Wed., Feb. 25 George Mason at UNCW ESPN Regional (MASN) 7:00 PM
Wed., Feb. 25 William & Mary at Old Dominion WSKY 7:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 28 UNCW at Hofstra MSG 4:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 28 Georgia State at VCU CN8; CSS 4:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 28 Old Dominion at Northeastern CSN-MA; CSN-NE; CSS 6:00 PM
Sat., Feb. 28 Towson at George Mason ESPN Regional (MASN) 7:00 PM
Sat., Mar. 7 CAA Quarterfinal Game #1 CN8; CAA-TV 12:00 PM
Sat., Mar. 7 CAA Quarterfinal Game #2 CN8; CSS (JIP 3 PM);CAA-TV 2:30 PM
Sat., Mar. 7 CAA Quarterfinal Game #3 CN8; CSS; CAA-TV 6:00 PM
Sat., Mar. 7 CAA Quarterfinal Game #4 CN8; CSS; CAA-TV 8:30 PM
Sun, Mar. 8 CAA Semifinal Game #1 CN8; CSS (TD 9 PM); CAA-TV 3:00 PM
Sun, Mar. 8 CAA Semifinal Game #2 CN8; CSS; CAA-TV 5:30 PM
Mon., Mar. 9 CAA Championship Game ESPN   7:00 PM




CSN-MA Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic

CSN-MA+ Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic PLUS

CSN-P Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia

CSN-NE Comcast SportsNet New England

CSS Comcast/Charter Sports Southeast

CN8 CN8 - The Comcast Network

TWC-W Time Warner Cable (Wilmington, NC)

ESPN ESPN

ESPN2 ESPN2

ESPNU ESPNU

ESPN Regional ESPN Regional Television

MSG Madison Square Garden Network

MSG+ Madison Square Garden PLUS Network

Big Ten Network Big Ten Network

Big Ten Network.com Big Ten Network.com

WSKY WSKY-TV (Hampton Roads, VA)

MASN Mid-Atlantic Sports Network

Cox Sports (Fairfax) Cox Sports (Fairfax, VA)

Niagara Sports Network Niagara Sports Network (Niagara Falls, NY)

Big East Television Big East Television Network

Bright House Sports Bright House Sports (Tampa, FL)

NESN New England Sports Network

Flames TV Flames Television Network (Roanoke, VA)









2008 – 2009 CAA WOMEN’S BASKETBALL
COMPOSITE TELEVISION LISTING
(as of 10/20/08, Times, networks subject to change)




Wed., Nov. 26 Old Dominion at Michigan State Big Ten Network 6:30 PM
Thu., Dec. 18 Tennessee at Old Dominion CSN-MA+; CSS 7:00 PM
Sun., Dec. 21 Maryland at Old Dominion CSN-MA 1:00 PM
Sun., Jan. 11 Hofstra at Drexel CN8; MSG+ Noon
Sun., Jan. 18 Georgia State at Old Dominion CSN-MA; CSS Noon
Sun., Jan. 18 UNCW at Towson CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSN-NE, TWC-W 2:00 PM
Thu., Jan. 22 Old Dominion at William & Mary WSKY 7:00 PM
Sun., Jan. 25 Towson at Drexel CN8 1:00 PM
Sun., Jan. 25 James Madison at Old Dominion CSN-MA; CSN-P 3:00 PM
Sun., Feb. 8 VCU at Delaware CN8 2:00 PM
Sun., Feb. 8 Northeastern at James Madison CSN-MA; CSN-NE (TD 4 PM) 3:30 PM
Thu., Feb. 12 VCU at Towson CSN-MA 7:00 PM
Sun., Feb. 15 George Mason at William & Mary CSN-MA; CSN-P; CSN-NE, CSS Noon
Sun., Feb. 15 Delaware at Old Dominion WSKY 2:00 PM
Wed., Mar. 4 William & Mary at Old Dominion WSKY 7:00 PM
Sat., Mar. 14 CAA Semifinal Game #1 CN8; CAA-TV Noon
Sat., Mar. 14 CAA Semifinal Game #2 CN8; CAA-TV 2:30 PM
Sun., Mar. 15 CAA Championship Game CSN-MA; CSS 3:30 PM




CSN-MA Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic

CSN-MA+ Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic PLUS

CSN-P Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia

CSN-NE Comcast SportsNet New England

CSS Comcast/Charter Sports Southeast

CN8 CN8

MSG+ Madison Square Garden PLUS Network

TWC-W Time Warner Cable (Wilmington, NC)