New Hampshire, Stony Brook Crowned 2007 America East Cross Country Champions

Release: 10/27/2007
Courtesy: America East Communications
Stony Brook, N.Y.-- The University of New Hampshire men took home their second consecutive title as predicted by the coaches at the 2007 America East Cross Country Championship held Saturday, while the Stony Brook women dethroned Boston University for the first time in four years for the Seawolves' first-ever America East crown. [Men's Results] [Women's Results]

The Wildcats (35 points) barely beat out the host Seawolves (37) on the men's side. Boston University (85) finished a distant third, followed by Maine (114) and UMBC (125). Binghamton (140), Albany (180), Vermont (200) and Hartford (271) rounded out the nine-team race.

Stony Brook (38 points) broke Boston University's (66) three-year reign as America East Women's Champions by a comfortable 28-point margin. New Hampshire placed third with 73 points, Maine fourth with 131 and Binghamton fifth with 141 points. Albany (176), UMBC (182), Vermont (184) and Hartford (229) finished sixth through ninth.

Stony Brook sophomore Alex Felce won the men's individual title with a time of 25:32.0 on the 8,124 meter course. It was just Felce's second career top-place finish with his first being only a week ago. UNH senior Robert Edgerton finished 5.4 seconds later, while another Seawolf, Shaun Krawitz, rounded out the top three in a time of 25:42.3. Eight of the top ten men's finishers belonged to the Wildcats or Seawolves.

The top three finishers on the women's side were all seniors, as Boston University's Andrea Walkonen, UNH's Cathy Parker and UMBC's Alex Hyland finished 1-2-3 on the 5,008 meter course. Walkonen landed the individual title, running the course in 17:27.2, while defending individual champion Parker ran the course in 17:38.8. SBU's Jessica Hampson placed fourth and Terrier Anne Wighton rounded out the top five. The Seawolves swept the seven through 11 places to ensure the team title.

The Coaching Staff of the Year honors, voted on by the conference's head coaches, and the All-Academic teams will be announced next week.

Men's Cross Country All-Conference (Top-Ten Finishers)

Alex Felce, Stony Brook
Robert Edgerton, New Hampshire
Shaun Krawtiz, Stony Brook
Matthew O'Connor, New Hampshire
Tim Hodge, Stony Brook
Nick Goodman, Boston University
Jordan Horwitz, New Hampshire
Joshua Kearns, New Hampshire
Zach Tyerman, Stony Brook
Paul Zwama, UMBC

Women's Cross Country All-Conference (Top-Ten Finishers)

Andrea Walkonen, Boston University
Catherine Parker, New Hampshire
Alex Hyland, UMBC
Jessica Hampson, Stony Brook
Anne Wighton, Boston University
Jessica Belliveau, Maine
Holly Van Dalen, Stony Brook
Elizabeth Carlson, Stony Brook
Laura Huet, Stony Brook
Lucy Van Dalen, Stony Brook