2002 Championship Information

Release: 01/15/2007
Courtesy: -
2002 Championship Information
The America East Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championship returns to Franklin Park in Boston for the first time since 1995 when the conference runs its premier meet there on Saturday, November 2. It will mark the third time the championship has been held at Franklin Park. The men compete on an 8,000-meter course beginning at 2:15 p.m. while the women run 5,000 meters at 3 p.m.

The conference has annually sponsored a Men’s Cross Country Championship since 1988 with the first Women’s Championship held at Maine in 1989.

Boston University has won 11 of the previous 13 women’s championships, including six-straight. Delaware (1995) and Vermont (1989) have also won women’s titles.

Defending men's champion New Hampshire has won three of the last four men's meets (1999, 1998). Boston University has won 10 of the previous 14 men’s championships with Northeastern (1988) winning the other.

Larissa Kleinmann of Boston University owns the conference record with a time of 16:40.0 at the Hunt Oregon Ridge course in Hunt Valley, Md. in 1998.

Boston University’s Karl Rasmussen, the only four-time individual cross country champion in conference history, owns the men’s record with a time of 24:14.2 at Maine in 1994.

The America East Cross Country Championships have been run at several different venues and have previously been hosted by Boston University and Northeastern (at Franklin Park), Hartford, Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont, among others.