2001 Championship Information

Release: 01/15/2007
Courtesy: -
2001 Championship Information
The 2001 America East Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championship will be held October 27 at the University of Maine Cross Country course on the Orono campus. Maine last hosted this event in 1994. The men compete on an 8,000-meter course while the women run 5,000 meters.

The Cross Country Championships will be the first America East Championship to host each of the nine member institutions: University at Albany, Binghamton University, Boston University, University of Hartford, Maine, University of New Hampshire, Northeastern University, Stony Brook University and University of Vermont.

The conference has annually sponsored a Men’s Cross Country Championship since 1988 with the first Women’s Championship held at Maine in 1989.

Boston University has won 10 of the previous 12 women’s championships, including five-straight. University of Delaware (1995) and Vermont (1989) have also won women’s titles.

Boston University has won 10 of the previous 13 men’s championships. New Hampshire (1999, 1998) and Northeastern (1988) are others to have won on the men’s side.

Larissa Kleinmann of Boston University owns the conference record with a time of 16:40.0 at the Hunt Oregon Ridge course in Hunt Valley, Md.

Boston University’s Karl Rasmussen, the only four-time individual cross country champion in conference history, owns the men’s record with a time of 24:14.2 at Maine in 1994.

The America East Cross Country Championships have been run at several different venues and have previously been hosted by Boston University and Northeastern (at Franklin Park), Hartford, Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont, among others.